Student Resources

Counseling Page Hero

AISG believes in a student-centered approach with the post-secondary process. This means students are expected to take control of searching for universities or colleges, completing and submitting applications by posted deadlines, paying application fees, making decisions driving the process forward, signing up for standardized tests, and ultimately making an acceptance choice. Often times your family will play a role in decision making; however, do keep in mind you are the one attending university. This process will enable you to develop a sense of autonomy and responsibility, which are expected of you when you enter higher education. My job is to guide, counsel, probe, refer, suggest, and inform.

Much of the information you need to know can be found below. When searching for universities or colleges, I encourage you to look for the 'right fit'. You know yourself better than anyone else. This is your future, so consider what exactly you need and want out of a post-secondary education. When searching and applying, do not consider universities solely based on name and ranking. There are a number variables to consider which are just as important, such as size, location, costs, and course offerings. When we speak of the 'right fit', you must also consider if you will literally fit in.

I look forward to working with you during this exciting moment in your life.

Alan Cheung

Events & University and College Visits

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6
Application Timeline

 

Higher Education News & Opportunities
Search
Presentations & Forms

Testing

Most universities accept either the ACT or SAT. You may take either, but AISG only hosts the digital SAT. AISG is a closed test centre, which means only AISG students may register.

AISG 2024/2025 Test Dates:

  • 24 August 2024
  • 2 November 2024
  • 8 March 2025
  • 3 May 2025

To register for the SAT, please follow the instructions here.

For registration deadlines, click here.

When you download the College Board's Bluebook app, you have access to practice questions. Khan Academy is also officially partnered with the SAT to provide practice questions. If you prefer, we have SAT practice books in the Grade 11/12 Lounge for use. 

Do note, many universities are still test optional for the Class of 2025 and Class of 2026. A small number have reinstated SATs or 'expect' you to submit them. Research carefully whether you need it before you register.

For those who require an English Language Proficiency (ELP) test, you may register with TOEFL, Duolingo, or IELTS. Determine which test is accepted before you register.